If you’ve ever watched an episode of Law and Order, you understand that the legal realm is incredibly complex. This includes the classification of crimes. Florida, like other states, separates crimes into two separate categories called misdemeanors and felonies. Each category involves different punishments and consequences.
What is a Misdemeanor?
A misdemeanor is a lower-class crime than a felony. It is defined as any criminal offense punishable by less than one year in jail. Misdemeanors are divided between the first and second degree. A misdemeanor of the first degree is the most serious type in Florida. It is punishable by up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $1,000. A second degree misdemeanor, meanwhile, is less serious and punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. The most common misdemeanors include petty theft, minor marijuana possession, prostitution, disorderly conduct, and battery. Read More